Submissions are sought for five five-minute performance slots.

‘Open Mountain: inclusion and connection’ will be held on the afternoon of Saturday 16 November, at Kendal Mountain Literature Festival 2019. The event will raise questions about who is allowed in or shut out of particular places and conversations about those places, and why. We want to change those conversations: to open the mountain to everyone.

  • How and where do you experience the natural world?
  • What does the idea of Open Mountain mean to you?
  • What are your experiences of exclusion and inclusion in the landscape?

What shuts you out of certain places or welcomes you?

We particularly welcome submissions from people under-represented in mountain and outdoor literature, including low-income and working-class writers, writers from ethnic, cultural and religious minorities, LGBTQ+ writers and disabled writers.

Each selected performer will receive a fee of £50.

About Kendal Mountain Literature Festival

Our literature festival is a chance to explore and celebrate our relationship and connection with landscape, nature, people, and place. We want to bring all that imagination and experience; whether embodied or virtual, to provoke, inspire, and ensure the survival of wilderness and creativity. Our diverse programme of events features some of the UK’s foremost authors of nature, landscape and mountain literature.

Kendal Mountain Literature Festival 2019 takes place 14-17 November as part of our wider Mountain Festival in Kendal, Cumbria.

How to Submit


  1. 200-500 words responding to the questions above in any way you like
  2. Up to 1000 words of prose or 2 pages of poetry
  3. Your name, address and email address
  4. Open to anyone worldwide

Deadline: Due to several requests we have extended the submission period. The new deadline for submissions is 31 August 2019.

Email your entry as a single word document or pdf with the subject line ‘Open Mountain'. Submission’ to:

All entries will be judged by Kate DavisAnita Sethi,  Polly Atkin and Paul Scully. The five selected writers will be informed on or by 16 September 2019.